Integrative Studio 014

10th April 2020 – Akash Das

Drafts of the Mood boards

For this session I created more mood board combing the looks and the reference images , that I’ve researched. The layout was a challenge for me , I wanted the mood board to represent what the topic says without distracting the audience with illustrations supporting the layout,I tried creating a personal drawing showing the essence and aesthetics it holds .

Final Mood boards

Working with Colors

For the Final iteration, I decided to choose “The paint bucket look”, creating this would be a challenge for sure but this look incorporated the raw element, it represents the “Makeup as an art or face as canvas” This idea is intriguing, I can be creative the look, I decided to create a virtual look on template to have an insight about the colour choice and the face shape.

THE SHOOT

For the photo shoot, I wanted to capture in golden hour lighting of daylight as it give a natural aesthetic to the pictures, My approach from the photography point of view was to click wide angle picture as well as close ups for the painted look. For wide angle view I took blue sky as the background as it brought out the colors on the face, also gave the subject more space to explore . For the close-ups I took white wall as the background to keep the focus on the face, I kept the ISO at 200, Aperture at 3.5 fps as in daylight it’s best at low.

Editing on Light room and Photoshop

Test Shots

It was difficult to be in front and behind the camera , I tried using the different poses like in the first one with hands not being focused (Low aperture, manual focus) give the focus on the face and brings out colors. In the Second and third with blue sky and sunlight give the picture the right saturation. I’ve used brush as prop to show the art element and it also shows the connectivity of the face with paint and and the sky in blue (It all looks like a photograph is a canvas itself).

For the face makeup, I used photo colors and acrylic colors, I tried applying thick layers of colors and the strokes on the face compliments the face structure and the curves at some place (Blue on the nose) and the others and vague to give it an art aesthetic.

The Final

Leave a comment