Imaging 014

7th April 2020 – Shruti Maliwar

Mockup

In this class I reworked on my inner pages layout , I first created rough sketches to get initial ideas to a workable layout , I researched more on the layouts , also realizing that the coffee table book need not require textual information in abundance the info has to be precise and significant according to the topic .

Layouts references

Master Page inner layout

Paragraph Style

For the inner pages I used paragraph style which maintain uniformity in all the paragraphs on the inner layout. As I’m working with less text filling empty spaces was a tough, I tried creating a layout that doesn’t have a negative space .

Inner Photo Aesthetics

For the inner pages photographs, I added image trace with low fidelity to gave it a painting effect. The photos still had the details with a oil painting effect, As in a coffee table book on historic objects the details in the images matters the most.

The Prototype

Creating the prototype was an inetresing assignment, gave me an insight of the actual physical appearance that my coffee table book would’ve looked like, creating the layouts and resembling thhe colours and photos with abstraction of other things didn’t fail to show the visualisation the book. For a book the binding also plays a significant role, I chose to sitch the book with cross stitching sewing technique.I have tried showing the gold with orange and tried depicting the nearest possible colours of the book. I have also created the jacket of the book and the inside of it as well to show the actual representation and aesthetic about the jacket .

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1-1VakPW3rlZGatlwSNLZQp0zjiHNj-mt (Full Video)

Leave a comment