Space & Materiality 006

Teacher: Sonia Gehlot

Technical Drawing

I created a technical drawing , showing the basic measurements of the model from MDF and the alignment of the safety pins , soon after my technical drawings got approved , I worked in the workshop and improvised the design of the the top base , We hammered a screw and gave the grip a rotatory movement.

Documentation of Grip

001
003
002

The yellow grip

MDF was cut in to the measurements, then I hammered small nails on MDF and then added 2 cm MDF horizontal placed to the base. And then, attached Safety pins hammered along with nails. This gave a strong connect of the nails to take weight of the objects. Screw on the top the grip, and added another base at the back to support the grip .

CLAY PROTOTYPE

I created the prototype using clay, I wanted make it , using the main element “safety pins” to show the main grip holders, I created lines and dots to show connectivity of woolen threads. I used clay as a material for my prototype not for my final design as ,it is soft and sometimes even crack appears if it dries up . It wasn’t possible for clay model to take that much weight compared to what MDF and wood could take.

Leave a comment